The Agricultural Credit Policy Council (ACPC) has released a total of P91.93 million in loans to 8,379 farmers and fisherfolk through to 17 lending conduits under the Survival and Recovery (SURE) Assistance Program since the program started in February 2017 until July 2018.

The SURE Assistance Program is a post-disaster facility which provides loan assistance to calamity-affected small farmers and fisherfolk and their households through partner-financial institutions and/or lending conduits. Conceptualized by Department of Agriculture (DA) Secretary Manny F. Pinol, the SURE Assistance Program caters to small farmers and fishers whose livelihoods had been affected by calamities. Areas covered by the program are areas “Under State of Calamity” with considerable damage to Agriculture as determined by the Department of Agriculture (DA) or local government units (LGU).

The SURE financial package includes: 1) Recovery Assistance or rehabilitation loan of P25,000 interest-free loans to finance the requirements of rehabilitating the farming and/or fishing or livelihood activities of the affected small farm/fishing households; and 2) Loan Moratorium of affected SFF borrowers with outstanding loans from partner institutions/conduits under any of the DA/ACPC credit and financing programs, the borrower may avail of a one (1) year moratorium on payment of their outstanding loan obligations. The amount due during the moratorium shall be added to back-end of loan.

In 2017, P66.96 million have been released to 4,129 calamity affected farmers and fisherfolk through 13 lending conduits serving areas which have been declared under a state of calamity by the concerned local government units.  The areas which have been declared under state of calamity in 2017 are the following: Camarines Sur and Catanduanes, affected by Typhoon Nina in January 2017; Agusan del Sur and Norte, affected by Tropical Depression Auring in January 2017; Carmen and Danao, Cebu, affected by Tropical Depression Crising; Marawi City due to the Marawi Crisis in May 2017; San Luis, Pampanga and San Luis and Jaen, Nueva Ecija which were hit by Avian Influenza in August 2017.

From January to July 2018, P24.97 million have been released to 4,250 small farmers and fisherfolk beneficiaries through seven lending conduits. The areas covered are: Agusan del Sur and Norte, affected by Tropical Depression Auring; Carmen and Danao, Cebu, affected by Tropical Depression Crising; Biliran, which was hit by Tropical Storm Urduja; Lanao del Norte, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur and Kabacan, Cotabato, which were all hit by Typhoon Vinta; and Albay due to Mayon Volcano eruption.